Shooting Jonglissimo

Last weekend I had the pleasure of photographing my friends Christoph and Manuel Mitasch, aka Jonglissimo, a world-class club passing duo, holders of four club-passing world records and two-time IJA stage competition gold medal winners.

We did the first shooting session at the Stephansplatz at around three in the morning. It was seriously cold but – our reason for shooting at such an uncommon hour – there were almost no people there:

Photo

Photo

After a few hours of sleep we had another session in a studio, where I learnt a few things: Motion-freezing juggling photos tend to suck. Even if you shoot from an uncommon angle they’re barely more than tolerable:

Photo

Shooting with glowing props is much more interesting:

Photo

Five club double backcrosses – I should have shot this from a ladder and with a longer exposure:

Photo

Club swinging sucks, but it looks kinda cool:

Photo

Shooting people while they’re jumping is fun:

Photo

Even more so if you throw stuff at them while they’re in the air:

Photo

Obligatory back-lit portrait:

Photo

Manuel:

Photo

More photos of jugglers.

5 thoughts on “Shooting Jonglissimo

  1. Hi, I’m a photo student in Minnesota, US and I’m also a juggler/diabolist. I’m focusing my semester’s project on juggling and manipulation arts. I love your photographs and am wondering what techniques you use to capture such great images of movement. Please feel free to email me if you have the time. Thank you!

    -SMJ

Comments are closed.