New Job

It’s been a long time since I’ve last posted on this blog, and a lot has changed. I’m working for Novell now, hacking Mono. Not this week though, because this week is HACK WEEK!

The idea of hack week is, basically, to let everybody work on what is dear to their heart. What’s dear to my heart is photography, and more specifically black and white photography, and so I’ve decided to work on a B&W processing application. The goal is to implement my digital B&W workflow in an easy to use application that’s free and runs on Linux. I’m writing the application in C# and using GEGL as the imaging engine. This is what I have now:

The tint controls aren’t functional yet, but the rest works, more or less. My plan for this week is to get everything that’s in the UI working properly and to implement loading, saving (which must preserve all the B&W adjustments) and exporting (which just saves the end result). I certainly won’t have time to implement dodging and burning this week, though.