Why?

Why Juggling, Photography, Software, and Atheism, and why this blog?

The simple answer would be: Because they are topics that interest me and because I like talking about them and feel that I have a few things to say about them.

I am a juggler. What that means is that, much more often than necessary, I throw things in the air and, most of the time, succeed in catching them and throwing them up again. It also means that I go to juggling conventions around the world, sometimes perform on stage, and know lots of other jugglers. I also produced a few juggling videos with Thomas Dietz, a world-class juggler and good friend, and other fellow jugglers.

I am a photographer. Simply put, that means that I produce photographs. This production process encompasses not only the pressing of the shutter, but starts with the idea for the photo, and includes the set-up, the composition, the trial-and-error in all these steps, and of course the post-processing. I publish most of my photos on Flickr.

I am a software developer. Not surprisingly, that means that I develop software. I even do it professionally, i.e., people pay me to do it. Nonetheless, I like it so much that I devote parts of my spare time to a few private projects, about which you can read on my homepage.

I am an atheist. Not only does that mean that I don’t believe that there is a god, it means that I believe that there is no god. Unfortunately, I cannot do it professionally, because no one has yet shown willing to pay me for believing in no god, which I consider a
bit unfair, because lots of people are paid (by the Roman Catholic Church, for instance) for believing in one god. What I do believe in, though, is science and reason, and I intend to write one thing or the other about these topics.

7 thoughts on “Why?

  1. Cool! The only thing in your list of four (photography, software, atheism and juggling) that doesn’t appeal to me is juggling, but I’m quite interested in poi, so I guess that’s similar. I too develop software professionally, have an money-draining (non-professional) interest in photography, and am Atheist.

    You make some clever arguments and your posts are well written. Keep up the good work!

  2. Your page is quite unusual but despite that you still manage to blend these 4 interesting topics well. I’ve read some of your posts, and I find them interesting and yes, quite intriguing I might say.

    You’ve done a great job of expressing your ideas.

    Best Regards,
    John

  3. Wow. I really enjoyed reading through your blog. I admit I am lost when it comes to programming but am an athiest myself and an amateur photographer on flickr. You take great photos and from what I read are very intelligent. Look forward to reading your blog continuously and looking at your photos.
    thanks
    jeremy

  4. if you believe in only science and reason, then I feel sorry for you, because science will only misguide you, like it has been doing since it’s creation…..

  5. Science has told us that there are no set reason why things happpen and that no one has more worth thant a satistic
    science has called masturbation healthy and it destroys reall relationship and real sex from being fullfilling and true,
    science hassaid premarital sex is ok as long as its safe, and it hurts marrages destroys lives and leads to a 90% divorce rate
    science has said that nothing that cannot be seen cannot be prooven yet we live in a world where guild pride shame super-human hopefullness and greed are the realest things we see and put our faith in
    these words are not meant as an attack againts atheism or anyone else but its a plee to hear that there is a chance a way out
    The Real god I serve heals all disease, calms every storming sea withing us and makes every beautiful day te proof of that is that I am here and i can say that I am free, from Guilt shame and fear in a way that is everlasting, it was not done with a phsyciatrist a pill or a belife in a man 200 years dead but in a god forever alive and forever freeing,
    freedom what you have to gain
    everything else is what you have to loose
    -<

    nice pics!=)

  6. > Science has told us that there are no set reason why things happpen and that no one has more worth thant a satistic

    Science does not make value judgements.

    > science has called masturbation healthy and it destroys reall relationship and real sex from being fullfilling and true,

    Care to provide evidence for your claim?

    > science hassaid premarital sex is ok

    Again, science does not make value judgements. It merely describes what is and does not say what ought to be (in a moral sense).

    > as long as its safe, and it hurts marrages destroys lives and leads to a 90% divorce rate

    Again, evidence?

    > science has said that nothing that cannot be seen cannot be prooven

    Science does not deal merely with what can be seen but with what can be measured. Electrons cannot be seen, but physics not only discovered that they exist but found out quite a lot about them.

    > The Real god I serve heals all disease

    So you’d rather pray than visit a doctor if you had cancer?

Comments are closed.