The MathMap Composer

I’ve just released version 1.3.1 of MathMap, which is a very generic image processing tool in the form of a GIMP plug-in (it can also be used as a command-line tool, though). This newest release sports a very exciting new feature, called “MathMap Composer”, which is similar in spirit to Quartz Composer for MacOS X, or, to pick a more well-known product, Yahoo! Pipes. Here’s a screencast presentation I put together today:

Thanks to the awesome openSUSE build service you can get pre-built MathMap packages for an impressive number of Linux distributions.

9 thoughts on “The MathMap Composer

  1. Fantastic :) I noticed a couple ways of making sphere-like distortions, which really impressed me since I was missing this in GIMP before. I wonder if you’ve thought about allowing the plugin to resize the canvas if the image distortion flows outside the boundaries of the original image? This would help for using the sphere tools to create things like planets quickly.

  2. Marc: No, there’s no way for MathMap to detect what the “edges” of your filter are. Could you give me a concrete example of what you’d like to do?

  3. Hi schani, thanks for the quick reply. I gave it another try, and here’s what I found. My test texture/image is here:

    http://www.buining.com/images/EarthTM0360.jpg

    I’m trying to map that onto a sphere so it looks like the earth.

    Using “Sphere” under “Map”, I get something that’s a little too pinched, or strangely mapped, and perhaps reversed.

    So, I went back to the Image menu and flipped the image horizontally, then back to Mathmap. Now, I tried “sphere with reflection” and I get a *perfect* result as far as mapping goes. Not even a need to resize the canvas (love the rotation controls, btw).

    So now my question is how to create this image:

    http://www.friendlyskies.net/EarthTM0360p.jpg

    -Without needing to flip it first
    -With a transparent background (I tried to change the bg color to transp. but the output isn’t transparent for some reason)
    -Without lighting effects, i.e., just the original colors of the image map.

    This is sort of a key for me to getting to a stage where we can do stuff like this in GIMP, and better:

    http://gallery.artofgregmartin.com/tuts_arts/making_a_planet.html

    Any tips are welcome. Thanks for this software – and I’ll keep experimenting.

Comments are closed.